Since 1901, when Wilhelm Conrad Röntgen was named the first recipient, a total of 193 people have been honored as Physics Laureates. In 1903, one of the very first Prizes in Physics went to Marie Curie, and in the 110 years since, the only other woman to win the distinction was Maria Goeppert Mayer, whose prize was announced in 1963, prior to the Kennedy assassination. In the 50 years since, 114 men have won. All the men have deserved it, of course. The prize recognizes the very best scientists and most important discoveries of the day. But with only 2 out of 193 winners, women have won only about 1 percent of the time. Why are so few prizes going to women? An article about women and the Nobel Prize in Physics in the Huffington Postgives some answers to the question.